Dolibois Prize

About John E. Dolibois History Prize

The Michael J. Colligan History Project of Miami University Hamilton, in association with the Hamilton Community Foundation, confers the John E. Dolibois History Prize.

The Prize is given for substantial and sustained efforts to promote the teaching of and learning about history in the community and throughout the nation. The first two recipients of this prize were Ambassador John E. Dolibois himself and former Miami University President Phillip R. Shriver.

The prize consists of a citation and an engraved glass sculpture depicting the torch of the Statue of Liberty. 


On October 21, the 2021 John E. Dolibois History Prize went to Doris Kearns Goodwin (pictured), presidential biographer and Pulitzer Prize winning author. Goodwin’s prize lecture “Leadership in Turbulent Times” revealed the challenges and triumphs, highs and lows faced by Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt, FDR, and LBJ during their days in the Oval Office. 


Previous John E. Dolibois History Prize Recipients:

2002: John E. Dolibois

2003: Phillip R. Shriver

2004: Christopher Browning

2005: James H. Billington

2006: Douglas Brinkley

2007: Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

2008: Susan Eisenhower

2009: Allen Guelzo

2010: Allen R. Millett

2012: William Cronon

2014: James M. McPherson

2016: David McCullough

2018: Jon Meacham

2019: Edmund Morris

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s